Skip to content

My English Writing & Rhetoric class at Xi’an Jiaotong University

02/11/2011

This is my last week for my “English Writing and Rhetoric” class at Xi’an Jiaotong University in Xi’an China.  My class is comprised of nineteen graduate students, almost all of whom already have English language degrees.

The enthusiasm the students show is a teacher’s dream.  They arrive fifteen minutes early for class, always have their writing assignments done before the deadline, and are unbelievably polite.

For example, on my first day of class, I did not hear the bell signaling the end of the period.  It took a full ten minutes before one of the students politely raised her hand to tell me the bell had rung.

I feel genuinely privileged to teach this fine group of students, which pushes me to give them the best learning experience possible.  It seems to be working, as they sometimes give me a round of applause at the end of the class period.

In addition to teaching, the University has assigned me to author a student writing guide.  That will be taking up the majority of my time over the next couple of months.

(Tip:  Clicking any photo will bring up a larger version.  Clicking that version will display maximum size.)

My Nineteen English Writing and Rhetoric graduate students.

Zàijiàn!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

